down cross right results icon premium content video video hollow icon audio lifeNews icon-comment tick starFilled betSlip hot icon-liveCommentary refresh spinner arrow-down

Record-breaker Hollie Doyle picks up top female jockey award at the Lesters

Hollie Doyle: honoured at the Lesters
1 of 1

Hollie Doyle's remarkable 2019 continued on Saturday evening when she picked up the lady jockey of the year award at the Professional Jockeys Association's Lesters Awards.

Doyle broke the British record for the most winners in a year by a female jockey this month, overtaking Josephine Gordon's previous record of 106, and she currently sits on 112 winners.

Hollie Doyle pictured riding her 107th winner Class Clown at Southwell

Richard Johnson was named jump jockey of the year after securing his fourth championship while Oisin Murphy, who won his first last season, scooped the Flat equivalent.

Cieren Fallon won the apprentice jockey award and Jonjo O’Neill jnr was named conditional jockey of the year. O’Neill jnr registered a first Cheltenham Festival winner aboard Early Doors in the Martin Pipe Conditional Jockeys' Handicap Hurdle.

Recently retired weighing-room giants Pat Smullen and Noel Fehily were both honoured with the special recognition award at the ceremony hosted by Sky Sports Racing's Jason Weaver and Luke Harvey. 

Jump ride of the year went to Mattie Batchelor for his remarkable effort aboard 33-1 shot Noble Glance in a novice hurdle at Fontwell on August 22. 

Paul Hanagan picked up Flat ride of the year for his efforts in guiding Dutch Decoy to the unlikeliest of victories in a nursery at Hamilton in August.

Watch: Batchelor and Noble Glance battle to victory at Fontwell 

Watch: Hanagan brings Dutch Decoy from first to last

PJA chief executive Paul Struthers said: "The Lesters are always a special occasion for the jockeys so we can’t thank Sky Sports Racing enough for agreeing to host this live special with Luke and Jason, as well as Racing TV for assisting us with the rides of the year footage.

"We're delighted for all the winners and hope they enjoy their early Christmas present. Particular congratulations go to Pat and Noel, as joining the illustrious roll of honour of special recognition recipients clearly demonstrates the regard in which they are held by their peers.

"We are currently trying to source a sponsor for the event and very much hope that it will be back next year for another fantastic evening of celebration of our members."

2019 Lesters

Flat Jockey of the Year Oisin Murphy
Jump Jockey of the Year Richard Johnson
Lady Jockey of the Year Hollie Doyle
Apprentice Jockey of the Year Cieren Fallon
Conditional Jockey of the Year Jonjo O’Neill Jnr
Flat Ride of the Year Paul Hanagan 
Jump Ride of the Year Mattie Batchelor
Flat Jockey Special Recognition Pat Smullen
Jump Jockey Special Recognition Noel Fehily

Read The Lowdown from 8.30am daily on the Racing Post mobile app with all the day's latest going, weather, market moves and non-runner news




We're delighted for all the winners and hope they enjoy their early Christmas present
E.W. Terms