down cross right results icon premium content video audio lifeNews icon-comment tick starFilled betSlip hot icon-liveCommentary refresh spinner

Sunriser Dhawan looks ready to shine

IPL champions off to a bright start

Shikhar Dhawan is making the case for a return to India's senior side
1 of 1

Sky Sports 3, 11.30am & 3.30pm

Hyderabad Sunrisers won last year’s IPL and started their title defence with a convincing win over ante-post favourites Bangalore on Wednesday.

Despite a rare failure for skipper David Warner, the Sunrisers racked up 207-4 thanks to Moises Henriques (52), the rejuvenated Yuvraj Singh (62) and Shikhar Dhawan (40).

Opener Dhawan has lost his place in the senior India side but was in sparkling 50-over form for India B with scores of 128, 50 and 45 just before the start of the IPL.

Only Warner, Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers scored more runs than Dhawan in the 2016 IPL and he can lead the way for the Sunrisers against Gujarat Lions.

Kolkata started the season in sensational style, breaking the record for the highest Twenty20 target chased down without losing a wicket.

Chris Lynn and Gautam Gambhir put on an unbroken stand of 184 in the win over Gujarat and the Knight Riders could follow up against Mumbai, who scored 36 runs off the last seven balls of their innings against Pune yet failed to defend their total of 184.

The West Indies chased down 309 to beat Pakistan in Friday’s first ODI but they are 13-8 to frank that form in the second of three games in Providence.

S Dhawan top Hyderabad runscorer
1pt 10-3 Betfred
Kolkata Knight Riders
2pts Evs general

Only Warner, Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers scored more runs than Dhawan in the 2016 IPL
E.W. Terms
Sky bet