Next Race Newspaper
Free Bets
My Account

Sunday, 09 December, 2018

Shortlist for Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards is announced

Harry Derham: Paul Nicholls' assistant is up for the leadership award
1 of 1

The shortlist of nominees for the 2018 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards were announced on Wednesday.

Sponsored by Godolphin and run by the BHA in association with the Racing Post, the awards are now firmly established in the calendar and the winners will be revealed at a ceremony at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower hotel in London by ITV Racing’s Ed Chamberlin on February 19.

The panel of 12 judges oversaw 256 applications and whittled that down to ten finalists in each of the six categories.

The final stage of judging will take place in London on the day of the awards ceremony.

Finalists will be interviewed face-to-face by the judges who will then decide the winners and runners-up for each category.

Those in the running for the Leadership award include Harry Derham, assistant trainer at Ditcheat, who has been nominated by his boss Paul Nicholls.

Brough Scott, chairman of the judging panel, said: “This is always a very difficult but humbling task. Year-on-year we are faced with countless examples of dedication and hard work, by the stud and stable staff who underpin the racing and breeding industries.

“On behalf of the judging panel, I would like to thank everyone who took the time to nominate, and send my commiserations to those who were not successful in making it to the next stage of the process."

He added: “We now have the unenviable task of condensing our shortlist of ten down to three in each category, and I wish all those still in the running for the 2018 awards the very best of luck.”


David Nicholson Newcomer Award

Alice Aucott (Charlie Longsdon)
April Clarke (Andrea O'Keefe)
Seb Todd (Nigel Tinkler)
Adrian Stewart (Dave Loughnane)
Chloe Peacock (Harraton Stud)
Hannah Farrell (Dianne Sayer)
Josephine Saunders (Hillwood Stud)
Kim Walker (Nicholas Alexander)
Luke Evans (Alan King)
Hayley Ashcroft (Tom Dascombe)

Leadership Award

Andrea Kelly (Tim Vaughan)
Graham McCourt (Tweenhills Farm Stud)
Harry Derham (Paul Nicholls)
Jamie Turnbull (Lucinda Russell)
Leanne Kershaw (Andrea O'Keefe)
Edward Murrell (Juddmonte Farms)
Sarah Denniff (Sir Michael Stoute)
Sarah Goodwin (Fittocks Stud)
Katie Ash (Tim Vaughan)
Jessica Mclernon (Richard Fahey)

Rider/Groom Award

Sophie Jarvis (Harry Fry Racing)
Anneli Lewis (Charlie Longsdon)
Ben Stephens (Malcolm Jefferson)
Faisal Tahir (Henry Spiller)
Joao Cordoso (Ralph Beckett)
Luke Watson (Richard Phillips)
Petra Sebestikova (Luca Cumani)
Sean Huggan (Richard Fahey)
Shannon Baines (Lucinda Egerton)
Brendan McGiff (Godolphin)

Stud Staff Award

James Frank (Hascombe & Valiant Stud Ltd)
Kate Ford (Manley Old Hall Farm)
Keith Warburton (Shade Oak Stud)
Tom Hughes (Hazelwood Bloodstock)
Daniel James (Brookside Stud)
Dean Hanson (Far Westfield Farm)
Natalie Folland (Elkington Stud)
Noel Challinor (Northmore Stud)
Sarah Taylor (Mickley Stud)
Dianne Best (Cobhall Court Stud)

Dedication to Racing Award

Alan Tate (Jeremy Noseda)
Chris Jerdin (Oliver Sherwood)
David Wells (Roger Charlton)
Dean Angell (Amanda Perrett)
Jamie Duff (Lucinda Russell)
Patrick Lennon (Shadwell Stud)
William Reddy (Eve Johnson Houghton)
Kevin Hunt (Andrew Balding)
Marjorie Renwick (Harriet Graham)
Sharron Jewkes (Luca Cumani)

Rory McDonald Community Award

Jackie & John Porter (Nicky Henderson & IJF)
Adam Nish (Musselburgh racecourse)
Amie Canham (Richard Fahey)
Angela French (The Racing Centre)
Clifford Lines (David Letts, Darryll Holland & Sir Michael Stoute)
Michelle Douglas (BHA)
Peter Williams (The British Racing School)
Sam Trainor (Andrea O'Keeffe)
Tim Adams (Dale Gibson)
Katy Ferguson (Epsom Trainers Association)

Members can read the latest exclusive interviews, news analysis and comment available from 6pm daily on





Year on year we are faced with countless examples of dedication and hard work, by the staff who underpin the racing and breeding industry
E.W. Terms
Sky bet