Next Race Newspaper
Free Bets
My Account

Sunday, 16 December, 2018

Many Clouds groom Jerdin among Stud and Stable Staff Award finalists

Chris 'CJ' Jerdin: nominated for Dedication to Racing award
1 of 1

Chris Jerdin, devoted groom of ill-fated 2015 Grand National winner Many Clouds, is among the finalists for the 2018 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards.

Jerdin, known as CJ, is one of three nominees in contention for the Dedication to Racing award alongside Patrick Lennon from Shadwell Stud and William Reddy, who works for Eve Johnson Houghton.

They feature among 18 names selected from the 256 applications for the six categories for the prestigious awards, now in their 14th year, which recognise and reward the outstanding skills, commitment and contribution of racing’s 6,000 stud and stable staff.

The final stage of judging will take place in London on the day of the awards ceremony, February 19, when finalists will be interviewed face-to-face by the judges, who will then decide the winners and runners-up in each category and an overall Employee of the Year.

The results will be revealed later that evening at the awards ceremony at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower hotel in Knightsbridge, London, hosted by ITV Racing’s Ed Chamberlin.

Brough Scott, chairman of the judging panel, said: "The nominations have been as competitive as ever, with countless examples of people going above and beyond to look after the horses in their care, and keep yards and studs in working order.

"The finalists are all outstanding in their own way, and the judging panel and I are looking forward to meeting them, although our task will be as tricky as ever."

The awards were very well supported by trainers and breeders with more than 100 entries submitted in the 24 hours up to the deadline.

However, entries for seven individuals were not passed on to the judges due to an administrative error. The BHA has apologised to John Gosden, Richard Hughes, Ken Ivory and Philip Bamford, and to the individuals they nominated.

The BHA’s process for handling entries will be changed next year and those affected will be automatically entered if they wish.

The awards, sponsored by Godolphin and run by the BHA in association with the Racing Post, offer more than £120,000 in prize-money, with up to £40,000 available to a single yard or stud. 

2018 finalists and their nominators

Leadership Award

Andrea Kelly – Tim Vaughan

Jessica McLernon – Richard Fahey

Edward Murrell – Juddmonte Farms

Dedication to Racing Award

Chris Jerdin – Oliver Sherwood

Patrick Lennon – Shadwell Stud

William Reddy – Eve Johnson Houghton

Rider/Groom Award

Petra Sebestikova – Luca Cumani

Ben Stephens – Malcolm Jefferson

Faisal Tahir – Henry Spiller

Stud Staff Award

Kate Ford – Goldford Stud

Daniel James – Brookside Stud

Sarah Taylor – Mickley Stud

David Nicholson Newcomer Award

Hannah Farrell – Dianne Sayer

Josephine Saunders – Hillwood Stud

Adrian Stewart – David Loughnane

Rory MacDonald Community Award

Angela French – The Racing Centre

John & Jackie Porter – ex Injured Jockeys Fund

Peter Williams – British Racing School

Members can read the latest exclusive interviews, news analysis and comment available from 6pm daily on


The 18 finalists are all outstanding in their own way, and the judging panel and I are looking forward to meeting them on 19 February

Key data

Many Clouds
E.W. Terms
Sky bet