down cross right results icon premium content video video hollow icon audio lifeNews icon-comment tick starFilled betSlip hot icon-liveCommentary refresh spinner arrow-down

Hollie Doyle leads the way with four nominations for 2020 Lesters Awards

Hollie Doyle: has four nominations for the 2020 Lesters Awards
1 of 1

Hollie Doyle could yet scoop more prestigious prizes as she leads the nominees for the 2020 Lesters Awards with four nominations, including for Flat Jockey of the Year alongside her partner Tom Marquand, champion jockey Oisin Murphy and William Buick.

Doyle, recently named Sunday Times Sportswoman of the Year and shortlisted for BBC Sports Personality of the Year, is also nominated for Female Jockey of the Year – an award she won in 2019.

The trailblazing jockey is also in contention for the Flat Jockey Special Recognition award and Flat Ride of the Year for her maiden Group 1 success aboard Glen Shiel on British Champions Day.

Watch Hollie Doyle's winning ride on Glen Shiel in the British Champions Sprint Stakes

Brian Hughes heads the four nominees for Jump Jockey of the Year along with Harry Cobden, Aidan Coleman and last year's winner Richard Johnson.

Champion jockey Brian Hughes (left) and former champion jockey Richard Johnson are both nominated for Jump Jockey of the Year

However, none of the four feature among the choices for Jump Ride of the Year, with Harry Skelton nominated for his front-running Champion Chase-winning performance on Politilogue as well as Nico de Boinville for his remarkable victory aboard William Henry in the National Spirit Hurdle at Fontwell. Tom Scudamore on Kepagge at Leicester and Jack Tudor on Potters Corner in the Welsh National complete the nominees in the category.

Full replay of Harry Skelton's ride on Politilogue in the Queen Mother Champion Chase

The ceremony will be hosted live on Sky Sports Racing on December 22 and Dale Gibson, PJA executive director (racing), said: "Like other awards ceremonies, we were unable to host a Lesters Awards ceremony due to the pandemic so we were delighted when Sky Sports Racing agreed to produce another Lesters special, as they did in 2019.

"Having been lucky enough to win two Lesters myself I know how much it means, so on behalf of the PJA and our members I would like to congratulate all of the nominees and wish them the very best of luck."

The awards are named after Lester Piggott, pictured here on Nijinsky after winning the 1970 Derby

Named after the legendary nine-time Derby winning jockey Lester Piggott, the Lesters are renowned in the racing industry as the annual awards voted by jockeys, for jockeys and as such are hugely coveted.

Voting for seven of the Lesters awards is by ballot among members of the Professional Jockeys Association, with the Flat Ride of the Year chosen by Racing TV viewers and the Jump Ride of the Year selected by Sky Sports Racing viewers. Both polls are now closed and all winners will be announced during the live show.

Full list of nominees for the 2020 Lesters Awards

Flat Jockey of the Year

William Buick
Hollie Doyle
Tom Marquand
Oisin Murphy

Jump Jockey of the Year

Harry Cobden
Aidan Coleman
Brian Hughes
Richard Johnson

Female Jockey of the Year

Bridget Andrews
Nicola Currie
Hollie Doyle
Megan Nicholls

Flat Jockey Special Recognition

Hollie Doyle
Joe Fanning
Paul Hanagan
Robert Havlin

Jump Jockey Special Recognition

Leighton Aspell
Wayne Hutchinson
Adam Nicol
Andrew Tinkler

Flat Ride of the Year

William Buick: Act Of Wisdom, Newmarket, October 21, 2020
Hollie Doyle: Glen Shiel, Ascot, October 17, 2020
Dylan Hogan: Wanaasah, Wolverhampton, January 15, 2020
Tom Marquand: Nahaarr, Ayr, September 19, 2020

Jump Ride of the Year

Nico De Boinville: William Henry, Fontwell, February 23, 2020
Tom Scudamore: Kepagge, Leicester, November 11, 2019
Harry Skelton: Politologue, Cheltenham, March 11, 2020
Jack Tudor: Potters Corner, Chepstow, December 27, 2019

Apprentice Jockey of the Year

Stefano Cherchi
Georgia Dobie
Cieren Fallon
Harrison Shaw

Conditional Jockey of the Year

Sam Coltherd
Page Fuller
Daniel McMenamin
Jonjo O’Neill Jnr

Join Members' Club Ultimate and read tipping from the likes of Pricewise and Paul Kealy, all the big interviews and features, daily comment and news analysis - plus our Ultimate Daily newsletter. Click here to sign up.


The Lesters are renowned in the racing industry as the annual awards voted by jockeys, for jockeys and as such are hugely coveted
E.W. Terms