down cross right results icon premium content video video hollow icon audio lifeNews icon-comment tick starFilled betSlip hot icon-liveCommentary refresh spinner arrow-down

Shortlists revealed for Godolphin-backed honours

Brough Scott: leading the judging panel
1 of 1

The shortlists for the 2017 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards have been announced, with ten entrants making the cut for each of the six categories, having been whittled down from a record 301 nominations. 

The winners will be revealed at the awards ceremony, which takes place at the Jumeirah Carlton Towers hotel in Knightsbridge, London on February 20, where the 12-man judging panel will conduct face-to-face interviews with each of the candidates before deciding upon the eventual winners.

A prize of £5,000 will be given to the winners of the leadership, dedication, rider/groom and stud staff awards with an additional £5,000 awarded to the winner's stable or stud. For the David Nicholson newcomer award the winner will receive £2,000 with the same amount going to their stable or stud.

The Rory MacDonald community award continues into its second year and carries a prize of £5,000 for the winner. 

The overall employee of the year award will be selected from one of the winners from the first four categories worth an additional £15,000 to both the victor and their stable or stud.

Brough Scott, Chairman of the judging panel said yesterday: “This is a humbling task because reading through the citations highlights how many good people there are in our racing world and choosing between them is a painful business.

“The competition would not even start unless individual nominators took the trouble to make the entries. The judges would like to thank everyone for getting involved and understand that many will be disappointed not to make the next stage. There is always next year!

“Meanwhile, the judging panel would like to congratulate everyone who has got through to the next stage and we now must perm sets of three from ten. It won’t be easy but we do it in admiration.”

Leadership award
Andrew Dickinson, Gary Moore
Michael Finn, Graham McPherson
Claire Freeman, Dan Skelton
Steven Howarth, Kevin Ryan
Hayley Kelly, Mark Johnston
Rory O'Dowd, Brian Meehan
Gary O'Neill, Charlie Appleby
Kate Robinson, Jamie Snowden
Nicola Studart, Jonathan Portman
Alyson West, Sir Mark Prescott

Rider/groom award
Jamie Bunsell, Paul Henderson
Chloe Emsley, Anthony Honeyball
Jason Favell, William Haggas
Jonathan Hinch, Godolphin
Joy Morton, Kenny Johnson
Chetan Singh, Andrew Balding
Toni Sydall, Richard Hannon
Patrick Trainor, Mark Johnston
Catherine Walton, Micky Hammond
Suzie Young, Nick Williams

Stud staff award
Robert Bowley, Juddmonte Farm
Jo Brown, Overbury Stud
Kelly Cole, Trinity Park Stud
Terry Doherty, Watership Down Stud
James Fitzjohn, Swanbridge Bloodstock
Sarah Taylor, Mickley Stud
Keith Warburton, Shade Oak Stud
Rachael Weaver, Yorton Farm Stud
Dennis Williams, Endless Acres Stud
David Wymbs, Meon Valley Stud

Dedication to racing award
Ruth Burchell, Dai Burchell
Belinda (Bee) Chapman, William Jarvis
Steven Davis, Daniel Loughnane
William Gleed, Marco Botti
Ronald Green, John Quinn
Kim Jones, Malcolm Saunders
Yasmin Elizabeth Mullen, Gay Kelleway
Colin Nutter, Sir Mark Prescott
Melville Soles, Pat Murphy
Bryn Walker, Hugo Palmer

Rory Macdonald community award
Michelle Bardsley, The Northern Racing College
Richard Farquhar, currently unemployed
Angela French, The Racing Centre
Gary Humphries, Godolphin
Lisa Kozak, Oliver Sherwood
Sarah Monkman, Racing Welfare
Margaret Moore, NRC volunteer
Adam Nish, Musselburgh Racecourse
Kevin Parsons, National Association of Stable Staff
Peter Williams, British Racing School

David Nicholson newcomer award
Lily Fitzpatrick, Lawney Hill
Marco Ghiani, Luca Cumani
Oliver Hayes, Fittocks Stud
Dillan Bobby Hurst, Susan Corbett
Anthony Lynch, Wadacre Stud
Jessica O'Kane, Kristin Stubbs
June Palmer Kimpton, Ben Haslam
Ray Polar, David Griffiths
Stacey Whitehead, Gary Hanmer
Elisha Whittington, Tom Dascombe

Reading through the citations highlights how many good people there are in our racing world
E.W. Terms