Next Race Newspaper
Free Bets
My Account

Tuesday, 11 December, 2018

Finalists announced for Godolphin awards as big day draws near

Sir Anthony McCoy with the winners of the 2016 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards
1 of 1

The 18 finalists for the 2017 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards have been announced ahead of the presentation ceremony, which takes place on Monday, February 20.

A record 301 nominations were whittled down to a shortlist of 60 before the panel of 12 judges decided upon three finalists for each of the six categories.

A prize of £5,000 will be given to the winners of the leadership, dedication, rider/groom and stud staff awards with an additional £5,000 awarded to the winner's stable or stud. The overall employee of the year award will be selected from one of the winners from these four categories and is worth an additional £15,000 to both the victor and their stable or stud.

For the David Nicholson newcomer award the winner will receive £2,000 with the same amount going to their stable or stud, while the Rory Macdonald community award carries a prize of £5,000 for the winner, with the same amount going to a charity of their choice.

The finalists will be interviewed face-to-face by the judges who will announce the winners and runners-up at the awards ceremony, hosted by ITV Racing's Ed Chamberlin, at the Jumeirah Carlton Hotel in Knightsbridge, London.

Brough Scott, chairman of the judging panel said: “Judging the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards makes you appreciate the commitment of those who work closest to the horses. For the judges it is also both an honour and annual heartache to pick out just three finalists from such obviously deserving nominees.”

Over £120,000 in prizes will be distributed at the awards, which were first held in 2005.

Leadership Award:

Michael Finn - Graeme McPherson
Hayley Kelly – Mark Johnston
Rory O’Dowd – Brian Meehan

Rider/Groom Award:

Jamie Bunsell – Paul Henderson
Jason Favell – William Haggas
Chetan Singh – Andrew Balding

Stud Staff Award:

Jo Brown – Overbury Stud
Terry Doherty – Watership Down Stud
James Fitzjohn - Swanbridge Bloodstock

Dedication to Racing Award:

Kim Jones – Malcolm Saunders
Colin Nutter – Sir Mark Prescott
Bryn Walker – Hugo Palmer

David Nicholson Newcomer Award:

Anthony Lynch - Wadacre Stud
June Palmer Kimpton – Ben Haslam
Elisha Whittington – Tom Dascombe

Rory Macdonald Community Award:

Gary Humphries – Godolphin
Sarah Monkman – Racing Welfare
Kevin Parsons – National Association of Stable Staff

Judging the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards makes you appreciate the commitment of those who work closest to the horses
E.W. Terms
Sky bet