down cross

Eight finalists revealed for Betting Shop Manager of the Year

Robert Mabbett: last year's winner of Betting Shop Manager of the Year
1 of 1

The eight regional champions who will contest the final of the Racing Post/SIS Betting Shop Manager of the Year were announced on Thursday.

Selected from a shortlist of 23 candidates, the eight will compete for the title at an awards lunch at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower Hotel in London on Monday, November 20.

As well as meeting the managers for the first time at Doncaster last weekend, the judges were able to watch each contender being interviewed by Derek Thompson and reread the report of a mystery shopper visit to each shop.

Each regional champion, accompanied by a key member of their staff, will meet the judges the day before the final for a question and answer session.

The main prize is a VIP trip to one of Singapore’s major race meetings, courtesy of the Singapore Turf Club, and the winner will also be invited to several key racing and betting occasions during their year as champion.

Regional champions

Greater London Ron Hearn, Charlton, JenningsBet
Anglia & South-East Mark Gamble, Cambridge, Ladbrokes
South-West & Channel Islands Kenny Smith, Bournemouth, Coral
Midlands & Wales Adrian Ward, Walsall, Paddy Power Betfair
North-West & Isle of Man Claire Doyle, Liverpool, William Hill
North-East Elaine Carter, Consett, Megabet
Scotland Will O'Neill, Aberdeen, Ladbrokes
Ireland Conchur O'Rawe, Belfast, Ladbrokes

Members can read the latest exclusive interviews, news analysis and comment available from 6pm daily on


The main prize is a VIP trip to one of Singapore’s major race meetings
E.W. Terms
Sky bet