down cross right results icon premium content video video hollow icon audio lifeNews icon-comment tick starFilled betSlip hot icon-liveCommentary refresh spinner arrow-down

Big talking point: 'It was bonkers!' jockeys react to Diego Du Charmil drama

Diego Du Charmil: controversial winner at Ascot on Saturday
1 of 1

The bizarre incident at Ascot on Saturday, in which Diego Du Charmil jumped through the boss (raised part) of the fence and put stablemate Capeland through the wing, has been a major talking point.

Diego Du Charmil was allowed to keep the contest while Capeland was disqualified.

Without an explicit rule the Ascot stewards certainly did not get it wrong as such, but their interpretation made sense to as many as disagreed with their conclusion and even the panel of experts in Monday's Racing Post Jury – available every week for members – were split on the decision.

Capeland (right) was forced through the wing of the fence by stablemate Diego Du Charmil


Should Diego Du Charmil have kept the race? Should Capeland have been disqualified? Did the stewards get it right? 

'It was the correct decision'

Keith Donoghue, jockey

Put it this way, if Diego Du Charmil did the same thing in a hurdle race where there was no upright part like there is to fences, he would have jumped the hurdle so I do think he jumped the fence, albeit a very peculiar part of it. I would say we will never see anything like that again in our lifetime. It was bonkers!


Capeland's owner reacts: "We were the meat in the sandwich, weren't we?"


'100 per cent they made the right decision'

Andrew Thornton, former jockey, now presenter and part of ITV's coverage at Ascot on Saturday 

Andrew Thornton: believes the stewards made the correct decision

There's nothing in the rule book as far as I know that says you have to jump the smallest part of the fence. He went through the highest part of the birch, front legs parted the birch, he's jumped it. Do you need to have a flag on top? It's a bit like eventing, as long as your shoulder goes the right side of the flag. As far as Capeland was concerned, it's a case of did he jump the fence? He went the right side of the wing, if it was a bumper all you have to do is go between the wings and did he go through the wings? Yes he did. Did he jump the fence? Well he probably went around it but through no fault of his own. If you want a quick answer, yes, 100 per cent they made the right decision but I've never seen it before and I'm never likely to see it again.

'It was a questionable decision'

Bridget Andrews, who finished fifth (after Capeland's disqualification) in this race aboard Hatcher

It was quite extraordinary and I doubt we'll ever see anything like it again. Whether it was fair to disqualify one without the other I don’t know but at least the winner did attempt to jump the fence, albeit the upright. Maybe flags on either side of the fence would make it easier for the stewards if it ever happened again.

Jonathan Burke: not too sure if the correct decision was made

'It's a grey area'

Jonathan Burke, rider of Clondaw Castle, runner-up in this race 

As someone who was involved in the race and finished second, I went back home after and watched it over and over again. I would have liked them to have asked either myself or Richie McLernon [rider of the third Champagne At Tara] for our views, as we were coming up behind them and could see what was happening. Did they make the right decision? I don’t know as there’s no rule really – it’s a grey area – but I just feel from my point of view being in the race they weren’t given a fair inquiry.


Racing Post members can read more from our panel on all of the weekend's action and talking points in the Monday Jury - available online and in Monday's print edition


 

I just feel from my point of view being in the race they weren’t given a fair inquiry
Bookmaker
Price
E.W. Terms
Sporting
BetVictor
Boylesport
888sport