Grand National Results

Grand National results and previous winners

The Grand National has been run at Aintree since 1839, when a horse called Lottery won the inaugural race. The race and indeed the course has changed significantly since it was first run. The race was previously known as the Grand Liverpool Steeplechase.

Winning the Grand National has made both horses and trainers alike household names. Red Rum won the race three times in the 1970s and is the only horse to win three times. The story of 1981 winner Aldaniti and his rider Bob Champion was so famous it became a film. Some of the fences, such as Becher’s BrBook, The Chair and the Canal Turn are equally well known.

Manifesto won the race in 1897 and 1899 and deserves his spot in Grand National history, he is the only horse to run in the race more eight times.

Jenny Pitman was the first woman to train a Grand National winner, capturing the race for the first time with Corbiere in 1983. She repeated the feat 12 years later with Royal Athlete. It is an achievement three women have replicated since,  Venetia Williams, Sue Smith and Lucinda Russell triumphing in the last 10 years.

Red Marauder was another famous winner of the race in 2001 when only four of the 40 horses completed in testing conditions.

The most recent winner was Tiger Roll. The Gigginstown-owned star is set to try to become the first horse since Red Rum to win back-to-back Grand Nationals.

Year Horse Form Price
2018 Tiger Roll P-2P51 10-1
2017 One For Arthur 43-151 14-1
2016 Rule The World 32254 33-1
2015 Many Clouds 4-1116 25-1
2014 Pineau De Re F2713 25-1
2013 Auroras Encore P45F5 66-1
2012 Neptune Collonges 6-P422 33-1
2011 Ballabriggs 11-112 14-1
2010 Don’t Push It 1-423P 10-1
2009 Mon Mome 18278 100-1
2008 Comply Or Die P/0P21 7-1
2007 Silver Birch 38242 33-1
2006 Numbersixvalverde 4B443 11-1
2005 Hedgehunter 24061 7-1
2004 Amberleigh House 342P5 16-1
2003 Monty’s Pass 31364 16-1
2002 Bindaree 53367 20-1
2001 Red Marauder 4552F 33-1
2000 Papillon 75493 10-1
1999 Bobbyjo 80541 10-1

Tickets for the Aintree festival can be found here.