Cheltenham Gold Cup

The Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup takes place at 3.30pm on Day 4 (Friday) of the Cheltenham Festival. The race will be broadcast on ITV and Racing TV (RTV). It is the highlight of the festival and is worth a little over £350,000 to the winner.

The Grade 1 contest first took place in its current form in 1924 and past winners Include legendary horses such as Golden Miller, Arkle, Desert Orchid, Best Mate and Kauto Star.

Length of race – The race is run over 3m2½f.
Where to watch – ITV and RTV.
When to watch – Friday, March 15 at 3.30pm.
Prize-money – Last year’s race was worth £625,000.
Course – The race is run on the New course at Cheltenham.
Race type – The Cheltenham Gold Cup is a Grade 1 chase and is open to horses aged five or over with an official BHA rating of 130 or higher.
Weights – Five-year-olds carry 11st 8lb, horses over six carry 2lb more and there is a mares’ allowance of 7lb.
Ages – Horses aged five or over can compete in the Cheltenham Gold Cup.
Sponsor – The race will be sponsored by Magners for the first time in 2019.

Past ten winners:


Year Horse Recent form Age Price Trainer Jockey
2018 Native River 1113-1 8 5-1 Colin Tizzard Richard Johnson
2017 Sizing John 33-211 7 7-1 Jessica Harrington Robbie Power
2016 Don Cossack 1-11F1 9 9-4F Gordon Elliott Bryan Cooper
2015 Coneygree 13-111 8 7-1 Mark Bradstock Nico de Boinville
2014 Lord Windermere 31-876 8 20-1 Jim Culloty Davy Russell
2013 Bobs Worth 1321-1 8 11-4F Nicky Henderson Barry Geraghty
2012 Synchronised 3P-731 9 8-1 Jonjo O’Neill Tony McCoy
2011 Long Run 113-31 6 7-2F Nicky Henderson Sam Waley-Cohen
2010 Imperial Commander 61P-25 9 7-1 Nigel Twiston-Davies Paddy Brennan
2009 Kauto Star 22-1U1 9 7-4F Paul Nicholls Ruby Walsh


Race statistics

  • Grade 1 chase winner, 10/10
  • Aged between seven and nine, 9/10
  • Adjusted RPR of at least 172, 9/10
  • Won over at least 3m, 9/10
  • Two to five runs that season, 8/10 (both exceptions ran just once)
  • Won a Graded chase that season, 8/10
  • No more than 12 starts over fences, 8/10
  • Won or placed previously at the festival, 8/10
  • Within 12lb of RPR top-rated, 8/10

Other factors

  • In 2015, Coneygree became the first winner not to have run at a previous festival since Imperial Call in 1996. He was also the first novice to win since Captain Christy in 1974
  • Six of the last ten winners had run in the King George or Savills Chase (formerly Lexus) that season
  • The leading jockey in the history of the Cheltenham Gold Cup is Pat Taaffe, who won the race four times with Arkle (1964, 1965, 1966) and Fort Leney (1968).
  • The leading trainer in the history of the race is Tom Dreaper, who won the contest five times with Prince Regent (1946), Arkle (1964, 1965, 1966) and Fort Leney (1968).

Key trials

The Cheltenham Gold Cup is the final leg in the Stayers Chase Triple Crown. The other two legs are the Betfair Chase at Haydock in November and the King George VI Chase at Kempton on Boxing Day. Kauto Star remains the only horse to achieve the Triple Crown in 2006-07.
The Irish Gold Cup is also a useful trial and was won by Sizing John in 2017 before his victory in the Cheltenham equivalent.

What happened last year?

The Colin Tizzard-trained Native River dug deep to get the better of 4-1 favourite Might Bite in a battle for the ages on testing ground. View the 2018 Gold Cup race result and replay here.

Where can I get Cheltenham Festival tickets?

Cheltenham Festival tickets can be purchased from the official festival website here.

Cheltenham Gold Cup Tip

This test suits Native River far better than races like the King George and last year’s winner will be tough to pass once again. However, he faces a fresh wave of challengers, with the likes of Presenting Percy, Clan Des Obeaux and Kemboy approaching their peak, and a repeat win is a huge ask. Presenting Percy loves Cheltenham but his campaign worries me and Clan Des Obeaux rates the safer proposition to cap a stellar season after a textbook preparation.
(Lewis Porteous)

1. Clan Des Obeaux, 2. Native River, 3. Kemboy

View the racecard and place your bets here.