News stories which have appeared on the website are available free of charge but stories which have appeared in the newspaper are only available when you join Members' Club. *NOTE: The archive runs from January 1, 2006 to present

Big Bucks 01/12/2012

Big Buck's: star hurdler won the top award last year

  PICTURE: Getty Images  

You decide on jumps horse of the year

THE Racing Post has again teamed up with Sandown Park to host the prestigious Horse of the Year Award, which is decided by a public vote and was won for the last two years by Big Buck's.

Visitors to the Racing Post website can vote for the five deserving candidates who were shortlisted on the basis of official ratings compiled by the BHA and Irish Turf Club senior handicappers, and their performances in the jump season's top races.

Votes will be entered automatically for a prize draw to win one of five pairs of tickets for the bet365 Ultimate Celebration meeting at Sandown on April 27 when the winning horse will be announced during the Awards Ceremony before racing.

The People's Jump Season Award, in conjunction with Channel 4 Racing, offers racing fans the chance to vote for their moment of the 2012-13 jump season.

The shortlist of four moments have been chosen by Channel 4 Racing's Nick Luck and Mick Fitzgerald and fans can vote for their favourite moment by or channel4. com/racing.

The winner will also be announced at the April 27 ceremony at which champion trainer Nicky Henderson, champion owner JP McManus and champion Tony McCoy will also be presented with their trophies.

The nominees

Bobs Worth - Has won both his starts this season and showed that size isn't everything by landing the Hennessy Gold Cup at Newbury in November before powering up the hill to win last month's Betfred Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Hurricane Fly - The first horse to regain the Champion Hurdle since 1975, Hurricane Fly remained unbeaten all season for trainer Willie Mullins.

Solwhit - With a void in the long-distance hurdle division this season left by Big Buck's, Solwhit took the mantle, winning both the major contests in the three-mile hurdle category at the Cheltenham Festival and Grand National meeting

Sprinter Sacre - Has proved himself to be untouchable this season with easy wins in all his four starts. After easy successes in the Sportingbet Tingle Creek, Victor Chandler Chase and Queen Mother Champion Chase, Sprinter Sacre stepped up in distance to two and a half miles in the John Smith's Melling Chase and beat Cue Card.

Zarkandar - Won four of his five races for Paul Nicholls this season. Although Hurricane Fly proved too good in the Stan James Champion Hurdle, Zarkandar showed he could compete at the top level when stepping up in distance in the John Smith's Aintree Hurdle earlier this month over the two and a half miles and winning in determined fashion.

News Archive