News stories which have appeared on the website are available free of charge but stories which have appeared in the newspaper are only available when you join Members' Club. *NOTE: The archive runs from January 1, 2006 to present

Poets Voice wins the Queen Elizabeth 11 Stakes Ascot 25.09.2010

Ascot will host the inaugural British Champions Day on October 15

  PICTURE: Edward Whitaker (  

Names changed for new Champions Day races

THE names of three of the six races that will make up Qipco British Champions Day on October 15 have been changed, the organisers announced on Tuesday.

The Diadem Stakes, which was previously run at Ascot in late September, will now be known as the Qipco British Champions Sprint Stakes; the Jockey Club Cup, previously run at Newmarket, will now be known as the Qipco British Champions Long Distance Cup; and the Pride Stakes, also previously run at Newmarket, has been changed to the Qipco British Champions Fillies & Mares Stakes.

They join the Qipco Champion Stakes, the Qipco-sponsored Queen Elizabeth II Stakes and a valuable handicap, details of which have yet to be finalised, on the brand new Ascot card.

Chris McFadden, chairman of British Champions Series Limited, said: "Ifwe are to position Qipco British Champions Day with maximum impact as the new climax to the British Flat racing season and a major event in international Flat racing, we felt it was important for the race titles to reflect this.

"These three races are in any case very different to the ones whose place they have taken, so we felt that renaming them was appropriate from this point of view as well." 

The organisers are hoping that the new British Champions Series, which boasts 35 races in five separate categories, will help to broaden the appeal of the sport in Britain whilst also attracting audiences from around the world. They are intending Champions Day to be the climax to the series, which has been designed to help create a larger and more prestigious climax to the Flat season for three-year-olds and upwards.

A jockey of the series and trainer of the series will be crowned with both awards based on the number of victories achieved during the 35-race series, which gets under way with the Qipco 2,000 Guineas this Saturday.

Sprint Mile Middle distance Fillies & Mares Long distance
Temple Stakes 2,000 Guineas Coronation Cup 1,000 Guineas Yorkshire Cup
King's Stand Stakes Lockinge Stakes Derby Oaks Gold Cup
Golden Jubilee St James's Palace Stakes Prince Of Wales's Stakes Coronation Stakes Goodwood Cup
July Cup Queen Anne Stakes Eclipse Stakes
Falmouth Stakes Lonsdale Cup
Nunthorpe Stakes Sussex Stakes King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes Nassau Stakes Doncaster Cup
Sprint Cup Joel Stakes International Stakes Yorkshire Oaks St Leger
British Champions Sprint Stakes Queen Elizabeth II Stakes Champion Stakes British Champions Fillies & Mares Stakes British Champions Long Distance Cup

Join the betting revolution! Download our FREE app for iPhone and Android with brilliant built-in betting. Download the app now

News Archive