News stories which have appeared on the website are available free of charge but stories which have appeared in the newspaper are only available when you join Members' Club. *NOTE: The archive runs from January 1, 2006 to present

Jock Bennett

Jock Bennett receives his award last year from Richard Hughes

  PICTURE: Dan Abraham  

Finalists named for Stud and Stable Staff Awards

THE finalists for the tenth Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards, to be held in London this month, were unveiled on Wednesday. 

Twelve months ago, Brian ‘Jock'  Bennett, assistant trainer to Mark Johnston, won the Employee of the Year award and the Middleham stable is represented in two categories this year - Rider/Groom (Alfie Mills) and David Nicholson Newcomer (Emma Dwyer).

Richard Hannon (Tony Gorman and Maxine Ledger) and Andrew Balding (Leanne Masterson and Scott Sainsbury) are also represented in two categories.

The finalists in each category will meet the judges at the BHA's headquarters in London on February 25, when the winners will be determined.

The Employee of the Year will then be decided after the judges have assessed the winners of the Leadership, Rider/Groom, Stud Staff and Dedication to Racing categories. 

The wi nner of the Administration Award has already been selected and has been invited to attend the awards along with the other finalists.

All the winners will be announced that evening during the ceremony at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower Hotel in London, which will again be hosted by Clare Balding. 

Whatever the outcome, all finalists are now guaranteed a share of the £120,000 prize-money, with every penny earned being matched and shared among their respective yards by sponsors Godolphin.

Brough Scott, chairman of the judging panel, said: "Once again, here are a real bunch of racing heroes. To be nominated is an achievement and to make it to the final stage is something to celebrate.

"They are all winners already. Along with the other judges I shall be honoured, as well as challenged, when talking to all of them at the end of the month."

The winners of the Leadership, Rider/ Groom, Stud Staff and Dedication to Racing categories will each receive a prize of £5,000, with an additional £5,000 awarded to the winner's own yard or stud.

The runner-up in each category will win £2,000 each, with a further £2,000 going to their yard or stud.  The winner of the Administration award pockets £5,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud, while the winner of the David Nicholson Newcomer award gets £2,000, as does their yard or stud.

The two runners-up in those categories will receive £1,000 each, with a further £1,000 awarded to their yard.  The Employee of the Year will be rewarded with an additional £15,000, with the winner's yard or stud also ending up £15,000 better off.

Leadership Award

Tony Gorman (Richard Hannon)
Adam Kite (Ralph Beckett)
Rory O'Dowd (Brian Meehan)
Rider/Groom Award
Tony Garth (Saeed Bin Suroor)
Leanne Masterson (Andrew Balding)
Alfie Mills (Mark Johnston)
Stud Staff Award
Jayne Bushby (Upton Viva Stud)
Gerry Meehan (Newsells Park Stud)
Becky Stebbing (New England Stud)
Dedication to Racing Award
Michael Ashley (John W Hills)
Stuart Jackson (David Simcock)
Maxine Ledger (Richard Hannon)
David Nicholson Newcomer Award
Emma Dwyer (Mark Johnston)
Ben James (William Haggas)
Scott Sainsbury (Andrew Balding)

News Archive