News stories which have appeared on the website are available free of charge but stories which have appeared in the newspaper are only available when you join Members' Club. *NOTE: The archive runs from January 1, 2006 to present

Fabre regains title as familiar names dominate

France: Three familiar names stood atop the main French championship tables for 2010 when the season ended on December 31.

Andre Fabre regained the trainers' title after a two-year interregnum to register his 22nd championship overall, while the largely unsung Ioritz Mendizabal led the jockeys for the fourth time. The Aga Khan became leading French owner for fifth time in six years.

After topping the table for the in 1987, Fabre led the way every season until his dynasty was broken in 2008, when Alain de Royer-Dupre toppled him from his pedestal mainly due to the awesome performances put up by the Aga Khan's Zarkava.

Andre Fabre

Andre Fabre: won trainers' title

  PICTURE: Edward Whitaker  

The following year Fabre again had to be satisfied with second place following an outstanding season by horses trained by Jean-Claude Rouget.

In 2010, however, Fabre was to reclaim his crown with prize-money earnings of €5,246,850, about €175,000 more than his closest pursuer Rouget.

Fabre, 65, sent out 126 winners from 553 runners compared to his rival's 216 victories from 697 runners.

The main contributor to his total was the enigmatic Lope De Vega who lifted the Poule d'Essai des Poulains before romping home in the Prix du Jockey Club, totting up a total of  €1.14m despite a disappointing second half of the season.

Fabre also won the Prix Ganay with Cutlass Bay and the Grand Prix de Saint-Cloud with Plumania.

The popular Ioritz Mendizabal had the cravache d'or sewn up a long way out before ending the season with 171 wins and 459 places to his credit, earning prize-money of €4.2m.

Mendizabal was followed home in the jockeys' table by Maxime Guyon (130), the mainly provincial rider Franck Blondel (121) and Olivier Peslier (105).

With €4,246,870 to his credit, the Aga Khan finished just under €200,000 ahead of his old rival Khalid Abdullah.

In addition, the Aga Khan picked up owners' premiums to the tune of just over €2m, and he was also leading French breeder which increased his income by a further €775,280 to make a grand total of just over €7m.

The main moneyspinners in his team were Juddmonte Grand Prix de Paris winner Behkabad and the filly Sarafina, who won the Prix de Diane before coming third in the Arc.


1. Andre Fabre - €5.246.850  -  126 wins (553 runs)

2. Jean-Claude Rouget - €5.072.175  -  216 wins (697 runs)

3. Alain de Royer-Dupre - €4.073.270  -  75 wins (385 runs)

4. Elie Lellouche - €2.397.000  -  56 wins (356 runs)

5. Henri-Alex Pantall - €2.386.145  -  125 wins (1,106 runs)

6. Sir Michael Stoute - €2.285.600  -  1 win (3 runs)


1. Ioritz Mendizabal - 171 wins (1,091 rides)

2. Maxime Guyon - 130 wins (1,081 rides)

3. Franck Blondel - 121 wins (935 rides)

4. Olivier Peslier - 105 wins (734 rides)

5. Christophe Soumillon - 93 wins (612 rides)

6. Christophe Lemaire - 89 wins (511 rides)


1. Aga Khan - €4.246.870   -  73 wins (306 runs)

2. Khalid Abdullah - €4.052.105   -   39 wins (188 runs)

3. Wertheimer et frere - €1.952.540   -  42 wins (248 runs)

4. Sheikh Mohammed - €1.494.540   -  73 wins (443 runs)

5. Ecurie Wildenstein - €1.434.260   - 25 wins (177 runs)

6. Marquise de Moratalla - €1.390.387  - 56 wins (353 runs)

Statistics: France-Galop



News Archive