News stories which have appeared on the website are available free of charge but stories which have appeared in the newspaper are only available when you join Members' Club. *NOTE: The archive runs from January 1, 2006 to present

Lee Mottershead

Lee Mottershead won the Clive Graham Tophy last year

  PICTURE: Dan Abraham  

Five Post nominees for HWPA Derby Awards

THE Racing Post has received five nominations for the Horserace Writers' and Photographers' Association Derby Awards, with the trio of Alastair Down, Lee Mottershead and Peter Thomas all in contention for the prestigious Racing Writer of the Year.

The Clive Graham Trophy, which was won by the Post's Lee Mottershead last year, has a shortlist of four that is rounded out by Lissa Oliver.

Jon Lees has also been nominated, for the newly created John Oaksey Trophy for the Racing Reporter of the Year, along with Marcus Armytage, Chris Cook and Greg Wood.

Edward Whitaker received two nominations, for Photographer and Picture of the Year. Tracy Roberts and Bill Selwyn are also nominated in both categories, while Louise Pollard completes the shortlist for Photographer of the Year and George Selwyn completes the Picture category.

News Archive