News stories which have appeared on the website are available free of charge but stories which have appeared in the newspaper are only available when you join Members' Club. *NOTE: The archive runs from January 1, 2006 to present

Kingston Hill - Andrea Atzeni wins from Oklahoma City - Joseph O'Brien

Kingston Hill: will bid to maintain his unbeaten record at Doncaster

  PICTURE: Mark Cranham (  

Kingston supplemented for Racing Post Trophy

IMPRESSIVE Autumn Stakes winner Kingston Hill was on Monday among four horses supplemented for the Group 1 Racing Post Trophy at Doncaster on Saturday.

Trainer Roger Varian and owner Paul Smith decided to stump up the £17,500 supplementary fee to include the son of Mastercraftsman in the mile contest, a race won by subsequent Derby winners Camelot (2011), Authorized (2006) and Motivator (2004) in the last ten years.

The other horses supplemented for the race at Monday's confirmation stage were Godolphin's Pinzolo, trained by Charlie Appleby, the Sir Michael Stoute-trained Snow Sky and Century, one of four trainer Aidan O'Brien has engaged at this stage.

Following victory in a Newbury maiden on debut, Kingston Hill took a notable step forward when landing the Group 3 Autumn Stakes on Future Champions Day at Newmarket nine days ago in decisive fashion.

Quoted on his website, Varian said: "Kingston Hill has been supplemented for the Racing Post Trophy. He is in great form and hasn't put a foot wrong since winning the Autumn Stakes.

"He has shown on both his starts that he handles cut in the ground and we feel that there is more to come from him.

"He has the right profile for a race such as the Racing Post Trophy."

BetVictor and Ladbrokes rate Kingston Hill a 20-1 shot for next year's Qipco 2,000 Guineas, with William Hill offering 25-1 for the Investec Derby.

Newmarket maiden winner Pinzolo followed up in a conditions race at Newbury last time, while Snow Sky has been supplemented off the back of an 11-length maiden win at Salisbury on his third career start.

Century is also a maiden winner, although he was off the mark at the first time of asking at the Curragh eight days ago and will be bidding to follow the example set by stablemate Kingsbarns, who won this race on just his second career start last year.

Buonarroti, Johann Strauss and Red Rocks Point complete O'Brien's hand.

A total of 13 runners were confirmed for the race on Monday, including Group 1 National Stakes winner Toormore, unbeaten in three starts to date for Richard Hannon.

Racing Post Trophy betting
Paddy Power: 6-4 Toormore (with a run), 11-4 Century, 100-30 Kingston Hill, 11-2 Pinzolo, Somewhat, 13-2 Chief Barker, 9-1 Snow Sky, 10-1 bar.

News Archive