News stories which have appeared on the website are available free of charge but stories which have appeared in the newspaper are only available when you join Members' Club. *NOTE: The archive runs from January 1, 2006 to present

Black Caviar (Luke Nolen) wins Darley T J Smith Stakes on AJC Australian Derby Day at Royal Randwick

Black Caviar (left): edged out So You Think to win Horse of the Year

  PICTURE: Getty  

Black Caviar lands Horse
of the Year award

Australia: Black Caviar's winning streak continued over the weekend as the sprinting superstar claimed the Victorian Racehorse of the Year title from So You Think.

On what proved to be a highly successful night for team Black Caviar, the multiple-Group 1 winner edged out So You Think by 150 votes to 134 at the Victorian Thoroughbred Racing Awards.

Fifty-eight members of the Victorian racing media cast votes on a 3-2-1 basis for performances on Victorian tracks.

Luke Nolen picked up the Scobie Breasley Medal for top ride on a Victoria course, although not for any of his on Black Caviar, while trainer Peter Moody scooped the Fred Hoysted Award from Alain de Royer-Dupre.

Black Caviar's next race will see her take on the nation's other star filly More Joyous, with both being aimed at the Group 1 Manikato Stakes at Moonee Valley on September 30.

News Archive